first blizzard of the season…

We survived our first blizzard of the season, but luckily we didn’t have to go anywhere today.  I did end up spending about 2 hours outside shoveling our walk and helping a neighbor shovel their deck.

Despite the snow, I managed to fit some time to work in the studio and work on a few pieces.  I  decided to try throwing and altering some pieces for a little variety.

I threw some squarish pieces today.  These are really fun to throw and make for some quick, fun pieces.  The straight sides contrast nicely with the round throwing lines on the sides of the pot, as well as the round bottom.  I am going to have to experiment with some more of these.

I also threw some oval pieces – however, I forgot to take any picture of them.  I do have this photo of an oval piece and a square piece that I attached some lugs for handles.  I think I am going to have to try some larger ones of these as baking pans.

I guess next time I’ll have to try dodecahedron pieces…

I am really building up the stockpile of greenware, and am going to start firing them tomorrow, regardless of the weather.  I also need to find time to barrel fire some pieces, but I may have to wait a bit until it gets a little warmer (I am NOT looking forward to negative degrees tonight!)  I’ll probably get a good amount of time working in the studio tomorrow since the weather looks to be a continued dose of gross.

Leave a Reply

