glaze day

Well, I spent most of the day glazing pieces.  I’m not particularly fond of glazing, because I am not always the most patient person.  And glazing takes a lot of patience, especially if you want some sort of acceptable outcome.  However, I was able to fight off my lack of patience and slowly worked through glaze day.

I dipped a bunch of pieces, which is nice and fast and I have some nice, predictable combinations that I really like that makes the process a little easier.  I just put some good tunes on and rocked out while working.

I also brushed some pieces – I’m testing out some different glazes to see how they turn out.  I hope to fire them soon so I can access the glazes right away while they are still fresh in my mind.  Brushing glazes are very hard for me because they take so long (I think it took me twice as long to brush half as many pieces as dipping).  I’m very excited about these glazes and hope they turn out well so I can put together large quantities for dipping.

The kiln is going to be blazing the next few days, with probably 5 glazes firings and a bisque firing planned.  We’ll have to see how they turn out.

Leave a Reply

