Bowls Project

I was contacted about a month ago to help with an Empty Bowls project that will be happening in Harmony at the end of the year.  I won’t have to do any planning for it but I did volunteer to make a few bowls for the event.  For those that don’t know, Empty Bowls is, “a grassroots effort to raise money and awareness in an effort to end hunger and food insecurity.”  The event is being sponsored by a church in Harmony and I believe the proceeds are going towards the food shelf, but I could be mistaken.  Attendees get to choose a bowl and are served a simple meal, and get to take the bowl home as a reminder of all the empty bowls in the world.

I will be making a few bowls, and I know they have talked to some other potters in the area as well.  I spent an evening throwing and altering a group of bowls for the project.  The pieces are now dry and are in the kiln as I write this.  I’m excited to try something like this and had a lot of fun making a bunch of (hopefully) very different bowls.  It gives me a good excuse to try some different ideas.

This is the first ‘real’ firing of the kiln with the new elements and switches.  Hopefully the kiln doesn’t explode in a blaze of glory – actually, if it has to go, that is the way to do it.  But I’m just not ready to say goodbye.  I’m hoping to do the first glaze firing on Sunday while working in the studio, as long as there are no unexpectedness happenings – mainly, my wife going into labor.  Should be a great weekend!

Dinkin’ Flicka!

Leave a Reply

