Work Time!

I had a little bit of spare time today so I worked in the studio a bit throwing some recycled clay on the wheel.  I made pieces using large hunks of clay – 4 to 8 pounds – and came out with some nice larger pieces.  I don’t have a lot of large pieces on hand at the moment so this was good practice for making more.

I like working with the recycled clay as it is a lot more responsive.  It can sometimes be a bit too wet, and doesn’t have the strength to throw larger pieces, but this batch had a good moisture content and I was able to throw easily.

I can tell February is going to be a good month for working in the studio, which is good because I go back to work at the beginning of March and will probably work six days a week for 3 months.  Very little pottery time will be had.  So I have to make the most of it now!

Leave a Reply

