Lidded Jars

I spent the afternoon working on some lidded jars.  I’m quite happy with how they turned out as I haven’t made many jars.  I’ve already have a few ideas for the next set of jars I make.

I prefer making lidded jars with the gallery in the bottom than with the gallery in the lid.  I like the style a lot and I feel there is quite a bit of experimenting I can do with their shape.  One downside is that I have to plan on making a lidded jar from the get go – I can’t make a nice bowl or vase and decide to make a lid for it.  It seems to work fine for me, though.

It takes some time to make since you have to throw the tops and bottoms, and then trim the tops and bottoms once they are dry enough.  I’m very happy with how they turned out and am excited to get them glazed and be able to hold them once they’re done.

Leave a Reply

