White and Red

So, yesterday I thought I’d try some marbled pieces.  I haven’t tried it before (it generally doesn’t interest me a whole lot) but I saw some really nice work online and decided it was time to give it a try.

Marbling is where you take to different colors of clay and pile them on top of each other.  When you throw the clay on the wheel, the colors start to mix and swirl and you get some really interesting patterns.

This piece I actually faceted which created the circular patterns.  It was interesting to try but harder to create.  The white clay is very fine and doesn’t have any stability, which makes it hard to throw.  Trimming was a little different too as the two clays dry out different and react differently to the trimming tools.  The result was that the pieces weren’t as smooth as I normally make them.

I think I will probably try it again at some point, but I think I’ll work on some other things first.  It was a lot of fun and a good way to fill a snowy day!

Leave a Reply

